Overview

Some words

TBI, Toulouse Biotechnology Institute,
Bio & Chemical Engineering

Located on the campus of the Toulouse National Institute of Applied Sciences (INSA), the TBI public research laboratory, supported by INSA Toulouse, CNRS and INRAE, combines fundamental and applied research in the field of biotechnology.

Combining scientific excellence with economic and societal relevance, the laboratory is structured into 4 scientific poles and 1 technological pole.

The unit, with strong disciplinary competences in Life Sciences and Engineering Sciences, leads a multi-scale, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary scientific strategy, in order to meet the challenges of the bioeconomy, and associates an important network of public and private collaborators.

It is also one of the labeled laboratories of the Carnot Institute 3BCar.

With an expertise of more than 40 years and internationally recognized, Toulouse Biotechnology Institute, Bio&Chemical Engineering conducts research activities in catalysis and enzyme engineering, systems and synthetic biology, fermentation, process engineering and eco-design.

The top management of TBI since January 2021

From left to right: 
Emmanuelle TREVISIOL, Deputy Director
Gilles TRUAN, Director,
Mathieu SPERANDIO, Deputy Director

To know us better...

Key figures

0
Staff
0
PhD
0 M€
Budget / year
0 M€
contracts / year
0
publications / year
0
m2 area

*données mars 2022

The main stages of construction of the laboratory

History

In 2007, the Toulouse laboratories LBB (Biotechnology-Bioprocesses Laboratory) and LIPE (Environmental Process Engineering Laboratory) merged to create LISBP (Biological Systems and Process Engineering Laboratory). With this merger, the LISBP is a pioneer in cross-disciplinary research and has embarked on an approach that focuses on both cross-disciplinary research and the development of knowledge and skills. 

In 2019, on the occasion of the inauguration of its new MB3 building resulting from the "Toulouse Campus" project led by the University of Toulouse, the laboratory changes its name to TBI -Toulouse Biotechnology Institute Bio & Chemical Engineering.

Structure & Organization

Under the triple supervision of INSA Toulouse, INRAE and CNRS, Toulouse Biotechnology Institute, Bio & Chemical Engineering is governed by four entities:

  • un Conseil de Direction,
  • a Scientific Council
  • a Laboratory Council
  • a Technical Council

supporting the management team.

With a thematic spectrum ranging from systems biology to process design covering fundamental, technological and applied research, TBI articulates its research around 4 research poles, platforms, committees and support services. 

Sectors of applications

  • Green chemistry
  • Water and waste
  • Bio-energy
  • Bio-materials
  • Agri-food
  • Health
  • Cosmetics

Labeling of the TIBH platform

TIBH (Toulouse Industrial Biotechnology for Health)

In July 2020, the French General Secretariat for Investment (Secrétariat Général pour l'Investissement) approved the TIBH (Toulouse Industrial Biotechnology for Health) platform for the Grand Défi Biomédicaments.

TIBH is supported by TWB (UMS INRAE, INSA Toulouse, CNRS), in collaboration with CRITT Bio-Industries (INSA Toulouse) and TBI (INSA/INRAE/CNRS).

With a budget of €30 million, this Grand Challenge aims to promote the development of projects aimed at reducing the production costs of therapeutic molecules.

TIBH proposes to make available and use its know-how and its industrial biotechnology platforms for the production of biomedicines, particularly in the field of therapeutic antibodies and proteins.

Logos Critt TWB TBI

TBI in the innovative ecosystem of Toulouse

Collaboration & networks

Présentation

Quelques mots

TBI, Toulouse Biotechnology Institute,
Bio & Chemical Engineering

Situé sur le campus de l’Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Toulouse (INSA), le laboratoire de recherche public TBI, soutenu par l’INSA Toulouse, le CNRS et l’INRAE, mêle recherche fondamentale et appliquée dans le domaine des biotechnologies.

Croisant excellence scientifique avec pertinence économique et sociétale, le laboratoire est structuré en 4 pôles scientifiques  et 1 pôle technologique.

L’unité, avec des compétences disciplinaires fortes en Sciences du Vivant et Sciences de l’Ingénieur, mène une stratégie scientifique multi-échelles, multidisciplinaire et interdisciplinaire, afin de relever les enjeux de la bioéconomie, et associant un important réseau de collaborateurs publics et privés.

Il est également un des laboratoires labellisé de l’Institut Carnot 3BCar.

Fort d’une expertise de plus de 40 ans et internationalement reconnu, Toulouse Biotechnology Institute, Bio&Chemical Engineering mène des activités de recherche en catalyse et ingénierie enzymatique, biologie systémique et synthétique, fermentation, génie des procédés et éco-conception.

La direction de TBI depuis janvier 2021

De gauche à droite : 
Emmanuelle TREVISIOL, directrice adjointe
Gilles TRUAN, directeur,
Mathieu SPERANDIO, directeur adjoint

Pour mieux nous connaître...

Chiffres-clés

0
Personnels
0
Doctorants
0 M€
Budget / an
0 M€
contrats / an
0
publications / an
0
m2 surface

*données mars 2022

Les grandes étapes de construction du laboratoire

Historique

En 2007, les laboratoires toulousains LBB (Laboratoire Biotechnologie-Bioprocédés) et LIPE (Laboratoire d’Ingénierie des Procédés de l’Environnement) fusionnent et créent le LISBP (Laboratoire d’Ingénierie des Systèmes Biologiques et des Procédés). De cette fusion, le LISBP se révèle pionnier sur des thématiques de recherche transversales et se lance dans une démarche misant à la fois sur la transversalité et la valorisation des connaissances et des compétences. 

En 2019, à l’occasion de l’inauguration de son nouveau bâtiment MB3 issu du projet “Toulouse Campus” porté par l’Université de Toulouse, le laboratoire change de nom et devient TBI -Toulouse Biotechnology Institute Bio & Chemical Engineering.

Structure & Organisation

Doté d’une triple tutelle INSA Toulouse, INRAE et CNRS, Toulouse Biotechnology Institute, Bio & Chemical Engineering assoit sa gouvernance sur 4 entités propres :

  • un Conseil de Direction,
  • un Conseil Scientifique
  • un Conseil de Laboratoire
  • un Conseil Technique

venant en appui de l’équipe de direction.

Avec un spectre thématique allant de la biologie des systèmes à la conception de procédés couvrant recherche fondamentale, technologique et appliquée, TBI articule sa recherche autour de 4 pôles de recherche, plateaux et plateformes, comités et services supports. 

Secteurs d'applications

  • Chimie verte
  • Eaux et résidus
  • Bio-énergie
  • Bio-matériaux
  • Agro-alimentaire
  • Santé
  • Cosmétique

Labélisation de la plateforme TIBH

TIBH (Toulouse Industrial Biotechnology for Health)

En juillet 2020, le Secrétariat Général Pour l’Investissement, a labellisé la plateforme TIBH (Toulouse Industrial Biotechnology for Health), pour le Grand Défi Biomédicaments.

TIBH est porté par TWB (UMS INRAE, INSA Toulouse, CNRS), en collaboration avec le CRITT Bio-Industries (INSA Toulouse) et TBI (INSA/INRAE/CNRS).

Doté de 30 M€, ce Grand Défi a pour ambition de favoriser le développement de projets visant à réduire les coûts de productions de molécules thérapeutiques.

TIBH se propose de mettre à disposition et d’utiliser son savoir-faire et ses plateformes en biotechnologies industrielles au service de la production de biomédicaments, notamment pour dans le domaine des anticorps et protéines thérapeutiques.

Logos Critt TWB TBI

TBI dans l'écosystème innovant toulousain

Collaboration & réseaux