Search
Close this search box.

Water desalination: when to use it and at what cost?

The conversion

The temptation is great to desalinate seawater in order to obtain freshwater that can be used for human activities, particularly drinking. Indeed, saline waters are abundant and accessible: they cover 75% of the planet, represent over 97% of the volume of water on Earth, and 11% of the world's population lives within 10 kilometers of a saline water source.

Desalination technologies have been available and used for some fifty years in regions suffering from water stress. They may sometimes be indispensable as the only solution for access to drinking water for populations, but sometimes their use is more questionable.

Today, against a backdrop of both water stress and energy and environmental transition, the question arises as to what role desalination should play. When fresh groundwater or surface water is available - which is still largely the case in France - it is preferable in energy, economic and environmental terms to use it for drinking water treatment. On the other hand, when the only available water resource is seawater, desalination enables access to drinking water for all.

Read more on The Conversation France website, written by Corinne CABASSUD and published on June 15, 2023

Share this article

Other news

Rechercher
Fermer ce champ de recherche.

Le dessalement des eaux, quand l’utiliser et à quel prix ?

The conversion

La tentation est grande de dessaler l’eau de mer pour disposer d’une eau douce utilisable pour les activités humaines, et notamment pour la boire. En effet, les eaux salines sont abondantes et accessibles : elles couvrent 75 % de la planète, représentent plus de 97 % du volume des eaux sur Terre, et 11 % de la population mondiale habite à moins de 10 kilomètres d’une eau saline.

Les technologies de dessalement sont disponibles et utilisées depuis une cinquantaine d’années dans des régions souffrant d’un stress hydrique. Elles peuvent parfois être indispensables car la seule solution pour un accès à l’eau potable des populations, mais parfois leur usage est plus discutable.

Aujourd’hui, dans un contexte à la fois de stress hydrique et de transition énergétique et environnementale, on peut s’interroger sur la place à donner au dessalement. Quand des eaux douces souterraines ou de surface sont disponibles, ce qui est encore largement le cas en France, il est préférable énergétiquement, économiquement et environnementalement de les utiliser pour potabiliser l’eau. Par contre, quand la seule ressource en eau disponible est une eau de mer, le dessalement permet un accès à l’eau potable pour tous.

Lire la suite sur le site The Conversation France, rédigé par Corinne CABASSUD et publié le 15 juin 2023

Partagez cet article

Autres actualités